Why choose digital or electronic signatures?

Digital signing and digital signatures

Understanding different types of digital signatures

We distinguish 3 types of electronic signatures, based on different levels of
trust services, electronic identification, authentication and regulations (such as eIDAS).

Simple Electronic Signature (SES)

e.g., manually writing a signature

  • document can be modified after signing
  • impossible to know the signers true identity

Advanced Electronic Signature (AdES)

e.g., advanced seal and one time code via SMS

  • document cannot be modified after signing
  • high probability of the signers true identity

Qualified Electronic Signature (QES)

e.g., the eID card or signing with itsme® Sign

  • document cannot be modified after signing
  • 100% certain of the signers true identity

The Qualified Electronic Signature (QeS) has the highest level of security.

In legal terms, it is compliant to EU Regulation No 910/2014 ( eIDAS  Regulation) for electronic transactions and is considered to be equivalent to a handwritten signature. In addition to being able to detect subsequent modifications to the document after being signed the identity of the signatory is bound to the signature with a qualified certificate issued by an accredited certification authority of which the signer has exclusive control.


Scroll down